Skip to content

Andorra: Country of Mountains and Mystery

October 16, 2009

Andorra1

If I were going to choose a place to disappear, Andorra would be it. Hmmm….gave THAT away too easily.

Some amazing Catalan-inspired recipes from this lovely country coming up in the next couple days.

I love Andorra. So did musicians Pete Seeger and Malvina Reynolds. They wrote this song about Andorra in 1962:

Chorus:
I want to go to Andorra, Andorra, Andorra,
I want to go to Andorra, it’s a place I adore,
They spent four dollars and ninety cents
On armaments and their defense,
Did you ever hear of such confidence?
Andorra, hip hurrah!

In the mountains of the Pyrenees
There’s an independent state,
Its population five thousand souls,
And I think they’re simply great.
One hundred and seventy square miles big
And it’s awf’lly dear to me.
Spends less than five dollars on armaments,
And this I’ve got to see.

(Chorus)

It’s governed by a council,
All gentle souls and wise,
They’ve only five dollars for armaments
And the rest for cakes and pies;
They didn’t invest in a tommy gun
Or a plane to sweep the sky,
But they bought some blanks for their cap pistols
To shoot on their Fourth of July.

(Chorus)

They live by the arts of farm and field
And by making shoes and hats,
And they haven’t got room in their tiny land
For a horde of diplomats;
They haven’t got room in their tiny land
For armies to march about,
And if anyone comes with a war budget
They throw the rascals out.

(Chorus)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 4:24 pm

    I think I had heard that song before, or read the lyrics, but I had forgotten it was about Andorra. Defense Budget < $5. Cakes and pies instead = priceless.

  2. October 18, 2009 8:56 am

    I had to check my Google maps for it. Now it’s on my travel to-do list. It looks like a dream-land. So small, how could they even have indigenous cooking? I know, I know, you’re about to show us.

  3. August 6, 2010 9:15 am

    Oh Andorra! Such a beautiful place! I hope I will visit it someday. I tried researching about this place and I found it enchanting! Gotta save for this!!!

    I also recently started a blog about countries in the world and I have one post for Andorra. Lets exchange links if its okay with you. Our blogs are related so its okay I think. I already added you. Hopefully you add me too or atleast approve my backlink post.

    Thanks so much and keep blogging!

    Here is mine:

    http://iamproudofmycountrybecause.blogspot.com/2010/08/i-am-proud-of-andora.html

Leave a Reply

